Finley Inducts 91 into Junior Honor Society

Filed under: Huntington Union Free School District,News |

In the Huntington School district, the J. Taylor Finley Middle School National Junior Honor Society chapter inducted 91 current seventh graders into its ranks during a Monday evening ceremony. The ceremony included many traditional elements, including a candle lighting segment and a member pledge.

Faculty advisors Amy Hughes and Phyllis Sadusky beamed during much of the evening. This year’s honor society officers and several distinguished members assisted during the ceremony. The incoming members seemed genuinely excited to be joining the exceptional group of scholars and their parents appeared proud, snapping photos and applauding at every opportunity.

Finley Principal John Amato gave an inspirational address, which was followed by the time-honored candle lighting ceremony and tapping conducted by the officers. The new inductees received certificates and pins commemorating their achievement.

Finley Principal John Amato

Mr. Amato called it a “wonderful evening” for the students and their families. “These students earned this honor by working very hard throughout elementary school and as seventh graders. Next year they will complete their community service, leadership and citizenship requirements as eighth graders.”

The new inductees include Evan Aguirre, Max Angstadt, Gabriella Bartley, Elizabeth Berejka, Jordan Biener, Stefan Tysland Breskin, Christopher Burton, Timothy Callahan, Michaela Carnesi, Tyler Conforti, Christopher Cordeiro, Luis Cuji, Grace Curran, Michelle D’Alessandro, Leanne Daly, Katherine Danziger, Kathryn Dara, Gabriella Deluca, Anthony Emmanuele, Julia Engle, Delaney English, Shannon Foley, William Garfinkel, Jack Glicker , Thomas Goldsmith, Jessica-Rose Greene, Gabrielle Grenier, Anna Gulizio, Kevin Gulizio, Claire Hannon, Michael Harris, Noelle Harvey, Maya Hoffman, Ryan Hoffman, Sarah James, Anjali Kapur, George Kemerson, Jackson Kent, Zaheda Khan, Tateana Khokhar and Justin Knowles.

Jacob Labarge, Nicholas Lanzisero, Camryn Libes, Chloe Liepa, Kaidi Lopez, Amanda LoScalzo, Ana Luna-Mancia, Michael Maceluch, Aidan McCormack, Lauren McGlone, Mikaela McMahon, Michael McMorrow, Daniel Monahan, Matthew Montefusco, Theresa Moreno, Garrett Moya, Alexandra Muller, Brendan Mulroy, Nicholas Newell, Miranda Nykolyn, Emma Pandolfi, Thomas Pandolfi, Sean Paton, Anthony Perna, Emma Petrizzi, Emma Pipolo, Samuel Prinzi, Austin Reda, Rachel Roday, Marina Ruzic, Kayla Ryan, Lauren Sage, Isabella Scarpati, Alexandra Smith, David Sonin, Camille Stafford, Cloe Stevens, Donald Stewart, Thomas Stock, John Stolfa, Jacob Strieb, Caroline Tonks, Rebecca Toth, Tania Ulloa, Christian Verfenstein, Dawson Wallace, Molly Warren, Tara Wilson, Lydia Witt and Steve Yeh were also inducted during the ceremony.

The evening wrapped-up in the school lobby with snacks and refreshments, which were provided by the Finley PTA. Finley parents and students chatted with Ms. Hughes and Ms. Sandusky and Mr. Amato and Assistant Principal Kenneth Parham.

Facebook Comments must be signed into Facebook

You must be logged in to post a comment Login