Huntington Fire Chiefs’ Council Installation and Awards

Filed under: Asharoken,Centerport,Events,Hamlets,News |

The Town of Huntington Fire Chiefs’ Council recently held their annual installation of officers and award ceremony for 2018. Huntington Town Clerk Jo-Ann Raia administered the oath of office to the Executive Board members who are: President John McDonough of Northport, First Vice President Dan McConnell of Halesite, Second Vice President Chuck Brady of Huntington Manor, Secretary Chris Ingwersen of Cold Spring Harbor, and Treasurer Gary Hontz of Eaton’s Neck. 

 The Chief Todd Sammis Firefighter of the Year Award was presented to Firefighter/EMT Jake Milliken of the Northport Fire Department. Milliken was recognized for his heroic actions at the Gunther’s Tap Room fire last May. Milliken spotted the fire while driving on Main Street, called in the alarm and assisted with the evacuation of residents living in apartments on the upper floors.

   The Fire Chiefs’ Council is comprised of the fire departments and ambulance squads that provide fire protection and emergency medical service throughout the Town of Huntington.

                                             Story and Photos by Steve Silverman

Facebook Comments must be signed into Facebook

You must be logged in to post a comment Login